The Arkansas Waterways Commission is comprised of seven members. These members are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Each commissioner serves a seven-year term and terms are staggered. Five of the commissioners represent five navigable stream basin areas of the state and two members serve “at large”. The five representing the river basin areas are chosen from lists of three and are recommended through organized associations as qualified persons who have demonstrated experience and interest in river development.

The terms of the Commissioners expire on January 14 of the applicable year. The Commission has adopted the policy that the Commissioner serving the last year of his term would be Chair, and the Vice-Chair would be the Commissioner serving the next to last year of his term. The work of the Commission is administered by an executive director.

Scroll to Top